Local Lawyers For Local Needs

Protecting You From The Impact Of DUI Charges

Whether you have been charged for the first time or have a criminal record due to previous mistakes, a charge of driving under the influence (DUI) can have a wide-reaching effect on your freedom, your finances and your life. Fines can strain your budget. License suspension or revocation can limit your freedom in daily life. Jail time can cut you off from your family and your job.

At Law Offices of Michael A. Scafiddi, we know how much these penalties can impact a person’s life, and we are dedicated to defending our clients from the impact of criminal charges. From our office in San Bernardino, our experienced attorneys work to limit the impact that drunk driving charges can have on our clients and their families.

The Penalties For A Misdemeanor DUI

In California, the penalties for a DUI charge vary depending on the type of charge and the prior convictions on a person’s criminal record. Penalties for a misdemeanor charge can include:

  • Penalties for a first offense – After a first misdemeanor conviction, a person will face up to six months in jail, three to five years of probation, up to $1,000 in fines, substance abuse classes and a license suspension of up to 10 months.
  • Penalties for a second offense – A second misdemeanor conviction will result in at least 96 hours and up to one year in jail, three to five years of probation, up to $1,000 in fines, an 18- or 30-month DUI class and a two-year license suspension.
  • Penalties for a third offense – A third misdemeanor conviction will lead to at least 120 days and up to one year in jail, up to five years of probation, up to $1,000 in fines, a 30-month DUI class and a three-year license suspension.

If someone was injured in an accident, these penalties become even steeper, with up to $5,000 in fines and up to one year in jail for first-time charges.

The Penalties For A Felony DUI

In California, the authorities can charge a person with a felony DUI in a variety of circumstances. These include if the driver has three prior DUI convictions in a 10-year period, has a prior felony DUI conviction or was involved in an accident in which another person was injured or killed.

The penalties for a felony DUI can be more serious and lead to even further impacts on a person’s life. These penalties include 16 months in state prison, up to $1,000 in fines and a four-year license revocation. Accidents resulting in injuries can further increase these penalties, with convictions leading to up to 10 years in prison or more depending on the severity of the injuries.

Speak To A Defense Attorney Today

The earlier you contact a defense attorney, the sooner you can begin protecting yourself from DUI penalties. To discuss your case with an experienced attorney, contact Law Offices of Michael A. Scafiddi by phone at 909-414-3772 or through our online contact form.